My thoughts on eating around the bowl

Here, it’s customary to have meals where everyone is seated around and shares from the same plate or bowl. Rice, fish and fries, whatever. Various families do it different ways. Some utensils, some hands. Some seat on the floor some sit on stools. And I’m sure there are other variations I haven’t been exposed to. Some families might not eat around the bowl at all. But from what I’ve experienced, here’s what I think:

  • It’s awesome because if you don’t like something, like an olive, you can just put it back in the middle of the bowl.
  • But sometimes what you want, like the ONE carrot they put in ceebu-jen (it’s not even a whole carrot…what do they do with the rest of it?) is one the opposite side of the bowl of you and not exactly in the middle so you can’t just reach across and cut from it….but I’ve started doing that anyway. My eyes need those carrots!!
  • You don’t have to worry about eating too much because if the plate doesn’t get finished, you’re not the only one at fault.
  • You eat way too much because the bowl usually has enough food to feed 20 people even if there is only 8 people in your family. Self-control Omolayo, self-control. But man, I could honestly just sit around the bowl and finish a whole thing of ceebu-jen myself(as long as they leave me the carrot).
  • Sometimes more people than can actually fit around the bowl are fit around the bowl anyways causing me to almost elbow little girls as I try to maneuver my corner. 
  • Overall, I really enjoy eating around the bowl. I think it’s a fun way to have meals with family and friends – and way less dishes to do once the meal is over! 
Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

